Let us recognize landmark architecture in your community! Two thousand and seventeen is Canada’s sesquicentennial, and has provided an opportunity for us to learn about the buildings that define Ontario Communities on a day-to-day basis and to get them recognized. The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) offers a chance to celebrate the diversity and impacts of architecture across this province through it’s Landmark Designation Award. 

The award was designed to recognize buildings that demonstrate architecture’s beauty, endurance, and lasting contribution to our community and society.  It identifies iconic buildings in Ontario, designed by Ontario architects -alone or in partnership with architects from other countries. These buildings symbolize excellence in architectural design, urban design, a unique community identity, as well as make a lasting contribution to the evolution of architecture.  It’s a platform to celebrate the lasting contribution of the buildings that defines a society/community and the architects responsible for its creation. 

Who can nominate a building?
Anyone may nominate up to three projects for Landmark designation.

What qualifies as a Landmark Designated building?
1- Establishes an inspirational design excellence standard for present and future generations.

2- Enhances its immediate environment and the public realm.
3- Recognizes, respects and builds upon the unique attributes of its surroundings (context).
4- Provides a building solution that makes a lasting and meaningful contribution to its community and is a valued community/city icon.
5- Must be located in Ontario, and built 25 years ago or more (prior to 1990).

1- The nominated projects need not be the nominator’s own work.

2- Projects considered for Landmark designation must exhibit the values attributed above to a Landmark designated building.
3- Previous Landmark and OAA 25 Year Award winning projects are ineligible.*

To make a submission, click here!



*Past recipients of OAA Awards can be found here.